Due to the worldwide coronavirus pandemic, we are also forced to cancel EMEA2020.

We are really sorry about that.

EMEA2021 is already being planned. It will take place from June 22nd to 24th, 2021. More information will follow. We will keep you up to date here.

70 participants from 20 countries made the last EMEA-workshop in June 2019 a success. The coming EMEA2020 Workshop will be the 8th workshop in this series. Material developments and ion exchange membrane based systems for energy applications will be discussed by representatives from research and industry with the focus set on anion exchange membranes. In addition to invited and contributed talks, the workshop features a panel discussion, in which experts from academia and industry will discuss the development of the field. A poster exhibition offers scientists and especially young researchers and students the opportunity to present their work. A price for the best poster will be awarded. A guided tour through the DLR Institute of Networked Energy Systems (former NEXT ENERGY) research laboratories, a get-together and a conference dinner will provide additional opportunities for lively scientific exchange in a familiar atmosphere.

Invited Speakers

  • Chulsung Bae (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA)
  • Dario Dekel (Technion-Israel Institute of Technology)
  • Steven Holdcroft (Simon Fraser University, Canada)
  • Patric Jannasch (Lund University, Sweden)
  • Yuseung Kim (tentative – Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • Klaus-Dieter Kreuer (MPI for Solid State Research, Germany)
  • Nanwen Li (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
  • Kenji Miyatake (University of Yamanashi, Japan)
  • William Mustain (University of South Carolina, USA)
  • Stephen Paddison (University of Tennessee, Knoxville, USA)
  • Miles Page (PO-CellTech, Israel)
  • John Varcoe (University of Surrey, UK)

Call for Papers

Participants are invited to submit abstracts for contributed talks until March 31st 2020 and for poster presentations not later than May 8th 2020 to emea-ve@dlr.de. Please use the provided template. At a later date they will get a confirmation if the abstract has been accepted and whether it will be an oral or poster presentation at the EMEA2020 workshop. A price will be granted for the best poster.


Please register online by Juni 1st 2020 here.

The participation fee of €395 incl. VAT is payable after receipt of invoice. After registration you will receive a registraton confirmation.

Because the number of participants is limited to 70, registrations are considered in order of receipt.

DLR Institute of Networked Energy Systems
Carl-von-Ossietzky-Str. 15 | 26129 Oldenburg | Germany
Phone: +49 441 99906-362
Fax: +49 441 99906-109
Email: emea-ve@dlr.de

Partners 2020



The spa town Bad Zwischenahn is located in the north-west of Germany and is a famous recreational area because of its colorful flowering rhododendron shrubs and park-like landscape. The city can be reached conveniently by train or by car. Airports are Amsterdam, Bremen and Hamburg, the nearest airport is Bremen Airport.

The Workshop will be held at the conference and golfing hotel “Hansens Haus am Meer“, which is located directly in the spa gardens at the lake “Zwischenahner Meer”, the third largest lake in Lower Saxony.


Bad Zwischenahn has a range of hotels in a variety of price categories. Rooms can also be booked at the conference hotel „Hansens Haus am Meer“.

If you are interested in booking a room in the conference hotel for your overnight stay in Bad Zwischenahn, you can do so by writing an email directly to the hotel (rezeption@hausammeer.de). Rooms are 99.00 € per night. Please refer to the workshop when booking.

Hansens Haus am Meer Hotel
Auf dem Hohen Ufer 25
26160 Bad Zwischenahn, Germany
Phone: +49 4403 940-0
Email: rezeption@hausammeer.de


By Plane:
The nearest international airport is Bremen, which is 60 km from Bad Zwischenahn.

By Train:
Bad Zwischenahn has a train station that is served by trains from the rail transport providers “Deutsche Bahn” (www.bahn.de) and “Regio-S-Bahn” (www.regiosbahn.de).
The “Hansens Haus am Meer” hotel offers a free shuttle service from the train station to the hotel on request.

By Car:
Coming from Bremen (A28):
Follow the A28 autobahn in the directions for Oldenburg / Emden / Leer. In Oldenburg, at the interchange “Oldenburg West“ continue to Emden / Leer on the A28. Leave the autobahn at the exit ramp No. 9 “Neuenkruge” and follow the road signposts to Bad Zwischenahn.

Coming from Leer / Netherlands (A31):
Change to the A31 autobahn at the “Leer” junction and follow the A28 in the direction for Oldenburg. Leave the autobahn at the exit ramp No. 8 “Zwischenahner Meer” and follow the road signs to Bad Zwischenahn.


The conference fee of €395 includes the lab tour, lunch and coffee breaks on both days as well as the get-together on Monday evening and the conference dinner on Tuesday evening and the VAT. Also covered is the bus tour to the DLR Institute of Networked Energy Systems.

DLR Institute of Networked Energy Systems may charge an administration fee of EUR 70.00 for any change or cancellation of registration. Cancellation must be received by DLR Institute of Networked Energy Systems in writing up until seven days prior to the event. Cancellations received after this date will be charged the full fee.

The program is subject to amendment. In the unlikely event of it being cancelled, registration fees already paid will be refunded.

If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Workshop contact:
Jocelyne Hansen
Phone: +49 441 99906-362
Email: emea-ve@dlr.de

Organising Committee

Dr Corinna Harms – DLR Institute of Networked Energy Systems (Germany)
Prof Dirk Henkensmeier – Korea Institute of Science and Technology (KIST, South Korea)
Prof Artur Michalak – Jagiellonian University in Krakow (Poland)